This Year in Baseball – Awards and Postseason Predictions

Baseball is about as individual a sport as a team game can be, and so here we’ll pick out our choices on who should be honored with their own hardware. We’ll also be making our picks on who will take home the most important title of them all; World Series Champion. Hope on board after the jump and please leave a comment letting us know everything we’re wrong about. Then, in late September, we’ll get a chance to take a look back and see just how wrong we were, because if there is anything you can count on with the baseball season, it’s that ANYTHING can happen.

First up, a recap of the divisional races:

AL East
Boston Red Sox
Tampa Bay Rays
New York Yankees
Toronto Blue Jays
Baltimore Orioles

AL Central
Chicago White Sox
Minnesota Twins
Kansas City Royals
Cleveland Indians
Detroit Tigers

AL West
Oakland Athletics
Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim
Texas Rangers
Seattle Mariners

NL East
New York Mets
Philadelphia Phillies
Florida Marlins
Atlanta Braves
Washington Nationals

NL Central
Chicago Cubs
Cincinnati Reds
St. Louis Cardinals
Pittsburgh Pirates
Houston Astros

NL West
Arizona Diamondbacks
Los Angeles Dodgers
San Francisco Giants
Colorado Rockies
San Diego Padres

Boston Red Sox over the Oakland Athletics 3-0
Tampa Bay Rays over the Chicago White Sox 3-2

Chicago Cubs over the Philadelphia Phillies 3-2
New York Mets over the Arizona Diamondbacks 3-1

Boston Red Sox over the Tampa Bay Rays 4-3
New York Mets over the Chicago Cubs 4-2

World Series

Boston Red Sox over the New York Mets 4-1

World Series MVP

Jason Bay


Individual Awards


  1. BJ Upton
  2. Mark Teixeira
  3. Kevin Youkilis

AL Cy Young

  1. CC Sabathia
  2. Roy Halladay
  3. Jon Lester

AL Rookie of the Year

  1. Travis Snider
  2. David Price
  3. Matt Wieters

AL Manager of the Year

  1. Trey Hillman (Kansas City)
  2. Ron Gardenhire (Minnesota)
  3. Terry Francona (Boston)

AL Comeback Player of the Year

  1. Jorge Posada



  1. David Wright
  2. Hanley Ramirez
  3. Manny Ramirez

NL Cy Young

  1. Johan Santana
  2. Tim Lincecum
  3. Brandon Webb

NL Rookie of the Year

  1. Cameron Maybin
  2. Colby Rasmus
  3. Jason Motte

NL Manager of the Year

  1. Fredi Gonzalez (Florida)
  2. Dusty Baker (Cincinnati)
  3. Bob Melvin (Arizona)

NL Comeback Player of the Year

  1. Chris Carpenter

4 Responses to “This Year in Baseball – Awards and Postseason Predictions”

  1. 1 afrankangle
    April 6, 2009 at 7:00 am

    As a Reds fan, I hope you’re right – but I have a difficult time believing this team is capable. As I post today, too many “ifs” (in my opinion). Oh well.

    Given the long season, your predictions are as valid as anyones. Good luck.

  2. 2 garnold
    April 6, 2009 at 11:38 am

    May I point out that your prediction of Dusty Baker as manager of the year caused massive brain-hemorrhaging all over this nation.

    The blood of the innocents are on your hands, Slanch.

  3. 3 youppi
    April 6, 2009 at 2:23 pm

    Travis Snider as AL ROY? Hmmmm…. that doesn’t have anything to do with you owning him in 4 leagues, does it?

    • April 6, 2009 at 2:33 pm

      Well, yes, I suppose in part. I drafted Snider for my fantasy teams exactly because I DO think he’ll be the RoY. If Wieters were to play a full season, I’d probably pick him, but with he and Price in the minors to start the year, I think Snider will get the credit for 2+ more months in the bigs…
      And I only have Snider in 3 leagues!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Follow The Slanch Report

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 19 other followers

Sign Our Petition!

The Slanch Report has started an online petition asking the MLB Network to air the Dock Ellis no-hitter he threw on June 12, 1970 against the San Diego Padres. The moment was a seminal piece of baseball history and is certainly worthy of being rerun.

Please join us in this cause and sign the petition below so we can all share in this special and fantastic moment of baseball history. THANKS!

April 2009


%d bloggers like this: